Back Issues

 

Main Page

Amtrak's Long-Distance Train Performance

August 2017

For the month of August 2017, the Bull Sheet has calculated that 26 percent of Amtrak's named long-distance trains arrived at their final destination on time or earlier.

The average arrival of all long-distance trains in the survey period was one hour and two minutes late.

The average arrival of the 74 percent of trains that were behind schedule was one hour and 24 minutes late.

A train is considered late whenever it arrives at its final destination behind schedule, even only by a minute. Sufficient padding is incorporated into long-distance train schedules to eliminate the need for grace allowances in showing a train arriving on time when it is actually nominally late. (Amtrak uses grace allowances in presenting its on-time data, which this survey does not.)

Trains arriving ahead of schedule are shown 'on time,' with no extra credit given to offset other arrivals that are late. Trains that are canceled, truncated, referred by Amtrak as 'service disrupted,' or provided with unreliable data are typically excluded.

This survey was compiled by the Bull Sheet's statistical department comprehending actual performance as reported for each affected train on Amtrak's website.

Individual train performance over the course of the month of August 2017 was as follows:

 Train

 Pct on-time arrival

 Overall avg arrival

 Avg arrival if late

 Auto Train

 58 %

 28 mins late

 1 hour, 6 mins late

 California Zephyr

 26 %

 1 hour, 35 mins late

 2 hours, 8 mins late

 Capitol Limited

 15 %

 1 hour late

 1 hour, 11 mins late

 Cardinal

 12 %

 1 hour, 12 mins late

 1 hour, 21 mins late

 Carolinian

 8 %

 58 mins late

 1 hour, 3 mins late

 City of New Orleans

 47 %

 26 mins late

 48 mins late

 Coast Starlight

 36 %

 1 hour, 24 mins late

 2 hours, 12 mins late

 Crescent

 10 %

 1 hour, 31 mins late

 1 hour, 41 mins late

 Empire Builder

 71 %

 20 mins late

 1 hour, 9 mins late

 Lake Shore Limited

 9 %

 1 hour, 31 mins late

 1 hour, 40 mins late

 Maple Leaf

 10 %

 36 mins late

 39 mins late

 Palmetto

 8 %

 54 mins late

 59 mins late

 Silver Meteor

 5 %

 1 hour, 32 mins late

 1 hour, 37 mins late

 Silver Star

 3 %

 2 hours, 11 mins late

 2 hours, 15 mins late

 Southwest Chief

 37 %

 1 hour, 8 mins late

 1 hour, 48 mins late

 Sunset Limited

 59 %

 30 mins late

 1 hour, 12 mins late

 Texas Eagle

 31 %

 58 mins late

 1 hour, 24 mins late

 Vermonter

 13 %

 26 mins late

 30 mins late

 

Daily Recap, July 2017 . . . . .

 Date

 Pct on-time arrival

 Overall avg arrival

 Avg arrival if late

 Tuesday, August 1

 23 %

 1 hour, 4 mins late

 1 hour, 23 mins late

 Wednesday, August 2

 11 %

 52 mins late

 59 mins late

 Thursday, August 3

 18 %

 1 hour, 29 mins late

 1 hour, 49 mins late

 Friday, August 4

 24 %

 1 hour late

 1 hour, 18 mins late

 Saturday, August 5

 38 %

 1 hour, 5 mins late

 1 hour, 44 mins late

 Sunday, August 6

 35 %

 1 hour, 3 mins late

 1 hour, 37 mins late

 Monday, August 7

 23 %

 1 hour, 6 mins late

 1 hour, 26 mins late

 Tuesday, August 8

 20 %

 1 hour, 11 mins late

 1 hour, 28 mins late

 Wednesday, August 9

 28 %

 1 hour, 14 mins late

 1 hour, 42 mins late

 Thursday, August 10

 9 %

 1 hour, 13 mins late

 1 hour, 20 mins late

 Friday, August 11

 19 %

 1 hour, 28 mins late

 1 hour, 49 mins late

 Saturday, August 12

 23 %

 1 hour late

 1 hour, 18 mins late

 Sunday, August 13

 28 %

 45 mins late

 1 hour, 3 mins late

 Monday, August 14

 25 %

 58 mins late

 1 hour, 17 mins late

 Tuesday, August 15

 26 %

 1 hour, 6 mins late

 1 hour, 29 mins late

 Wednesday, August 16

 31 %

 51 mins late

 1 hour, 14 mins late

 Thursday, August 17

 14 %

 1 hour, 4 mins late

 1 hour, 15 mins late

 Friday, August 18

 28 %

 1 hour, 13 mins late

 1 hour, 40 mins late

 Saturday, August 19

 23 %

 1 hour, 7 mins late

 1 hour, 27 mins late

 Sunday, August 20

 31 %

 44 mins late

 1 hour, 4 mins late

 Monday, August 21

 36 %

 51 mins late

 1 hour, 19 mins late

 Tuesday, August 22

 20 %

 1 hour, 29 mins late

 1 hour, 51 mins late

 Wednesday, August 23

 22 %

 1 hour, 5 mins late

 1 hour, 23 mins late

 Thursday, August 24

 20 %

 46 mins late

 57 mins late

 Friday, August 25

 27 %

 46 mins late

 1 hour, 3 mins late

 Saturday, August 26

 35 %

 1 hour, 2 mins late

 1 hour, 36 mins late

 Sunday, August 27

 39 %

 1 hour, 8 mins late

 1 hour, 53 mins late

 Monday, August 28

 30 %

 41 mins late

 59 mins late

 Tuesday, August 29

 39 %

 42 mins late

 1 hour, 8 mins late

 Wednesday, August 30

 26 %

 57 mins late

 1 hour, 16 mins late

 Thursday, August 31

 28 %

 1 hour, 16 mins late

 1 hour, 46 mins late

 Composite for Month

 26 %

 1 hour, 2 mins late

 1 hour, 24 mins late

 

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

August Comparison, This Year vs Last Year:

 August 2017

  26 %

 1 hour, 2 mins late

 1 hour, 24 mins late

 August 2016

  33 %

 48 mins late

 1 hour, 12 mins late

 

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Monthly Recap - Previous Seven Months This Year . (January-July)

 Performance

 Pct on-time arrival

 Overall avg arrival

 Avg arrival if late

 January 2017

 39 %

 59 mins late

 1 hour, 37 mins late

 February 2017

 40 %

 50 mins late

 1 hour, 24 mins late

 March 2017

 26 %

 1 hour, 9 mins late

 1 hour, 33 mins late

 April 2017

 31 %

 52 mins late

 1 hour, 16 mins late

 May 2017

 28 %

 1 hour, 6 mins late

 1 hour, 31 mins late

 June 2017

 20 %

 1 hour, 13 mins late

 1 hour, 32 mins late

 July 2017

 22 %

 1 hour, 19 mins late

 1 hour, 41 mins late